…and I’m a blogger.

This is my first venture into the world of blogging.  In the past year, my life has undergone quite a few remarkable changes, so I gathered it was time to wax a little on these epochs, as well as the adventures to come.

I was married on December 18th to my best friend, Mark Dietrich.  We’ve been together for over 13 years, and I couldn’t be happier.  The ceremony and reception were a blast. I wish we could have a party like that every couple of years where only our closest friends and family members get together to eat, drink, and dance like mad.  I may have to look into this further.

We had our honeymoon in Hawaii, and it was stunning, to say the least.  We saw and did things that I never even dreamed existed. One of the highlights of the trip was hiking a portion of the Kalalau Trail. It was utterly surreal to be scaling rushing waterfalls, peering over the edges of the sheer cliffs down to booming waves below, and winding our way through a rain forest. It was a trip of a lifetime, to be certain.

Mark and I also recently became parents…to kittens. Dirk (Diggler) and Henry (David Thoreau) are now the loves of our lives.  Mischievous, adorable, cuddly, and loving, I am sure I will be writing a lot about the Dietrich family happenings.

In addition to all of the above, I’ve recently become an amateur triathlete.  Two summers ago I decided I wanted to learn how to swim.  My friend Larissa is a swim coach, so she gave me all of the necessary pointers.  I’m now completely hooked on triathlons.  It’s the perfect sport for me since it combines two of my loves: fitness and competition. I just joined a racing team (Grunt Girl Racing), and I am very much looking forward to the new racing season.

In June, right after school lets out for the summer, I will be taking a motorcycle trip out west with my father.  Our destination is Yosemite, but we will make a few more stops as well.  Other possible destinations are Yellow Stone, the Grand Canyon, and/or the Corn Palace (yes, the Corn Palace).  I know the trip will be long, especially since I’m riding on the back and not driving myself, but I look forward to being able to spend this time with my dad taking in the sites of the places we both love. I plan on doing a lot of journal writing about the experience, which Mark is sure I can turn into a best-selling non-fiction novel that will enable him to retire early. We shall see about that.

Two-thousand and ten was a busy year, and it’s shaping up to be an even busier one in 2011; however, I’m definitely feeling up for the challenges and adventures that await me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

