“Turn around, bright eyes…”

Dare I say it? This has been the best spring break of my teaching career.  I may as well throw in my college years, too, since I was never one of those crazy, drunken kids that went away to Daytona Beach and somehow managed to get myself on a Girls Gone Wild video. There’s always next year, though.

During my almost 8-year teaching career, I’ve either gone on vacations with Mark, my family, or have just stayed home.  The latter is what this year’s break entailed, and I couldn’t be happier that I stayed local. Why, in a week’s time I was able to catch up with my family, my friends, my Harry Potter, and my grading. Alright, so working on “vacation” doesn’t seem like it would be “fun,” but it sure is spectacular to know that I’m returning to work completely caught up on all of my essay grading. Hooray, me!

Being done with all of my papers is lovely, but the best part of this break has been spending time with the people that mean the most to me. The greatness started off at Inner Bliss Yoga in Rocky River last Friday with Laura and Moffat. We decided to change up our typical pre-spring-break happy hour with a sweaty hour. I credit the hard workout and good company as the catalyst to my successes this week. Thanks ladies!

BRITTON FAMILY FUN: My sister, Sara, and I managed some great gym time together at the French Creek Family YMCA. She’s such a good motivator! My dad and I planned our trip out West this summer where we’ll be riding out on his Honda Gold Wing to destinations including Yellowstone, Yosemite, and Mesa Verde. We were getting excited just looking on the map at the route we’re taking. Lastly, I enjoyed a lovely lunch date with my mom at Wood and Wine in Avon where we caught up on each others lives…and gossiped, but just a little. By the way, I highly recommend their Shrimp and Scallop Sackatini. Dee-lish!

HANGING WITH MY PEEPS: I had dinner and drinks at Market in Rocky River with my fun and sassy former Avon Lake coworkers (Colleen, Tori, Tara, and Courtney), and spent a wonderful afternoon with my current fun and sassy coworkers (Sara, Laura, Ann Marie, and Mindy) visiting baby Jack and noshing on some delectable goodies.

Does it get any better than that?  Yes!

cocktails (and love) at the VTR

 

BONUS POINTS: Mark was able to eek out another week of work in Cleveland, so in addition to all of the aforementioned awesomeness, Dietrich family fun has been had. To cap off our week of domestic bliss, Mark and I had dinner on Friday at Agave and then took a trip to Malley’s to get my annual box of Dark Chocolate Carmello Eggs (I can literally hear angels singing whenever I open the box). On Saturday we had dinner at Fahrenheit in Tremont. We had both never been there before, and we were not disappointed. Mark went so far as to declare, “This is the best pork I’ve ever had in my life.”  Feeling full and a little old-fashioned, we headed over to the Velvet Tango Room for a couple of cocktails. Of course some Rock Band had to be played once we got home, and we wailed some Bonnie Tyler that would melt faces.

TRI-ING: In addition to the good company and good food, I’ve also been able to get in some excellent tri training, and the run I took earlier this week through Sandy Ridge Reservation was one of the prettiest and loveliest EVER (a bird watchers delight if you check out my training page – the March 29th entry). The weather finally “warmed up” for the weekend, so I was easily able to convince Mark to join me at Bur Oak park in Elyria for a couple’s afternoon jog on Friday. Adorable, I know.

Henry and Dirk

Despite the cold and snow present for the majority of the week, and despite our governor being a complete tool (Thanks for SB5, you sick fish!), I’m going back to work on Monday as rejuvenated and happy as I would’ve had I left good ol’ Ohio, nay, even more so, and that is all thanks to my wonderful friends and family…and kittens.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

