Summer is here…again!

The 2011-2012 school year was hands down my most successful and favorite of my teaching career, and though I say farewell to the children, the staff, and the building with a wee bit of sadness in my heart, I couldn’t help but skip to my car with the thought that after tomorrow’s half day, it will officially be my summer vacation. Having said that, here are the top 10 things (in no particular order) I most look forward to this summer break:

10. Competition…of all kind

Those of you who know me well know that I thoroughly enjoy trying to dominate every game/activity/made-up-competition-in-my-own-head that I participate in, whether that activity is a triathlon or other kind of race, beach games, staring contests, the comparing of bruises, etc. Summer has a tendency to lend itself to more of this ridiculousness, and I’m feeling extra sassy this season.

9. Exploring

My goal this year is to explore more of what Cleveland has to offer. I haven’t been to the West Side Market since I was in high school, there are great state parks near my house that I’ve never been to, and there are a few adorable little shops and restaurants in Tremont and Ohio City that I’ve been eager to check out.

8. Concord, Massachusetts

I can hear the ghosts of Sleepy Hollow Cemetery, the waters of Walden Pond, and the sizzle of breakfast being made at Helen’s beckoning me to my home away from home. This year I plan to take my bike with me and ride around the city. I also plan to swim across the pond, which is roughly one mile. Of course there will also be a late-night hike up to Author’s Ridge to spend some down time conversing with my boys Thoreau, Emerson, and Hawthorne (shout out to my girl Alcott). On the way home, I’m going to swing by Amherst so I can finally see Emily Dickinson’s homestead and grave. English nerd road trip!

7. Training

I love summer training because this is usually done with my GGs, and training with friends is the best! I also enjoy confusing my neighbors year after year when I practice my transitions. You would think that after 4 years they would be used to the running of laps around my house while removing various items of clothing only to put on other various items of clothing, the running of my bike up and down my driveway without actually ever getting on it, and the self-deprecating/swearing session when I realize that I forgot my energy chews or couldn’t get my speed laces to cooperate. Nope – they still stand and stare.

6. Sleeping in…until 7:00 A.M.

5. Hanging with friends, babies, and cats

4. The beach

In addition to yet again attempting to tackle my completely irrational fear of open-water swimming (I’ve somehow convinced myself that a severed head or an Asian carp will be peering back at me when I look down), I look forward to beach shenanigans in general.

3. Food

This is usually the time when I play around in the kitchen trying new things or creating new recipes. It’s nice being able to make an actual breakfast instead of eating Eggo waffles in my car on the way to work. Basically, I just really love eating, and there is a lot more time to do that in the summer.

2. Having the time to read books and magazines

1. Patio drinking

Whether it’s my own, a friend’s, or a restaurant, one of my favorite summer activities is sipping a cool cocktail on a patio. It just feels like summer.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Summer is here…again!

  1. 0. Convince husband the air conditioning should NOT be on.

    Like

  2. I LOVE English Nerd Roadtrips! When are you going?

    Like

Leave a Reply

