Phase 2

Holy crap, it has been FOREVER since my last post! Let’s cut right to the chase, shall we: no, I’m still not able to run, which totally and completely sucks in every way, shape, and form. I know what you’re thinking right now: “Well, Jen, there’s no need to sugar coat it.” Got it.

After 13 weeks of physical therapy in which my strength, balance, core, and general piss-poor attitude towards strength training greatly improved, my flare-ups have not. In fact, there was really only a 3-week stretch in the middle of those 13 weeks that I was completely pain free. Life appeared to be great during that time. I started to ease (and I mean EASE) back into running, but within a week, after mindlessly running up a flight of stairs at work, I was back to my same old routine of waiting for the labral tissue to calm the hell down, and then start all over with the strength training.

At first – and very stupidly I might add – I tried to muscle through the pain. I thought I was taking it easy with swimming, but every time I would kick out from the wall, my hip would check me with a “What the f*** are you doing?” I then tried doing only the super minimal strength-training exercises in lieu of any cardio, but still the pain and frustration persisted.

While I’m no longer battling the depression I was in August and September, I’ve moved into the next phase: anger. Though I am very happy that I’ve been able to maintain, if not improve, my physique, I can’t help but feel angry that in 13 weeks I’m still no better off injury-wise than I was back in August. Having said that, I’ve decided to get the consultation for the surgery.

Nothing is set in stone as of yet, but I have an appointment on Tuesday with a doctor whose specialty is hip labral tears. While I was very much hoping to avoid surgery, I really don’t see any other choice. I’ve already decided not to compete in any triathlons in the 2013 season, but I still want to be able to train throughout the summer so I can come back stronger than ever in 2014. If the new doctor gives me the green light for the surgery (which entails dislocating my hip – GULP!), I’m going to request that it is done as soon as is humanly possible.

While I’m leaner, stronger, and happier these 13 weeks later, I’m still not where my doc and my physical therapists thought I would be. However, I don’t look at this as defeat; I look at this as phase two. I now have a much greater respect and appreciation for strength training. Hell, I finally have somewhat defined abs and I didn’t do a single crunch (shout out to my girls Jen and Madelyn at Cleveland Clinic who understand a woman’s hatred of all things crunch). I will absolutely continue to incorporate strength training into my weekly training schedule – well, that is to say, once I start training weekly once more. Look out 2014!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Phase 2

  1. elisariva says:

    That stinks, I feel your frustration. I hope you are able to find the right solution.

    Like

Leave a Reply

