I already lost count

Wow, what a weekend! First things first: my hip and leg update.

Ever since the last Sunday debacle, I’ve been taking it easy. I haven’t done any leg lifts or band work, but I have been keeping up with the other, minimal stress exercises. I do feel better, but I am still a wee bit sore. The PA said that I could be inflamed for up to two weeks, and while I’m sure things will settle down much more this week, I have decided to put off swimming. I was super jazzed to get into the water on Tuesday, but I’m pushing my date with the pool back another week. I really want to do things right, and I don’t want to force it. I feel that this is a smart decision, and ever since the stupid one I made on Sunday to run up those stairs, I’ve made a conscious effort to remind myself multiple times throughout the day that I recently had hip surgery.

This weekend, however, significantly improved my morale. I was very hard on myself after last Sunday, but an unexpected snow day on Friday was the perfect way to kick off an otherwise perfect weekend. Later that same evening I had some much-needed girl time with my ladies Ann Marie, Laura, and Moffat (Beth, but we never call her that) at Rocky River Wine Bar. It was a blast! On Saturday I babied the leg and hip with more Advil and ice packs, but the evening was spent hanging with friends at Market Garden Brewery in Ohio City. (Yes, we eat out a lot, but that’s the awesome food scene in Cleveland for ya!)

Now I’m sitting in the basement with my husband, having a few brewskies, eating some kick ass buffalo chicken dip, and watching the game. I managed to get all of my Sunday “chores” taken care of early in the morning, and now we are relaxing.

The next few weeks are going to be a little more intense. Our Town, the school play I am directing, opens on the 21st, so things are picking up quite a bit at work. I’ve also signed on for my second Swim-A-Thon with Girls With Sole, which takes place March 3rd. I’m going to have to put in a lot of swim time to get ready for that, though I will not be attempting to beat my record from last year of 117 laps in 2 hours. Still, I look forward to getting in the water with my friends and helping out Liz’s amazing non-profit as much as I can.

Alright, enough of this blogging stuff. I have a game to watch! Good luck to whomever you’re rooting for!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I already lost count

  1. Erin says:

    I’d better have a cameo here in next weekend’s blog!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

