Did the groundhog see my early recovery?

Come on, Punxsutawney, help a sista out!

Normally, the last couple of weeks leading up to the play fly by, but this particular one did not. Though it has ended with my being sick (it’s time for my annual “The play is opening in a couple of weeks” cold/cough/general yuckiness), it was a really great week.

On Tuesday I had my 5-week post-operative physical therapy session and evaluation with Stephen. Though I’m still a wee bit tender from the infamous setback, he said he was happy with my progress. I’m now permitted to add back in the bridges, leg raises (joy), and band work. The super cool bonus is I’m allowed to ride a stationary bike for up to 10 minutes a couple of times a week and I can do some light (no more than 10 lb. dumbbells) lifting. Needless to say, I was ecstatic when I left the Cleveland Clinic that evening. I will have my first follow-up with Dr. Rosneck on Tuesday, and I’m looking forward to seeing him so I can thank him in person for putting me back to “normal.”

OURTOWN2This next week will most likely be even more crazy due to the play opening in two weeks. I know I haven’t talked much about it on the blog, but I direct the school plays where I work. This year I am producing Our Town, which marks my 19th show. While rehearsals have been going very well and I’m super jazzed for everyone to see how great the kids will be, every ounce of my free time is being swallowed up by rehearsal time, filling out paperwork, costume shopping, props organizing, set design, etc. Still, the play schedule has actually worked out well for me. Since I can’t spend this time training, I might as well spend it directing. Plus, the kids are just oodles of fun.

Yesterday I had the great fortune of being able to see my best friend from high school, Erin. She was in town for only about 36 hours, but I am so thrilled that she could squeeze in some time with me. We had a lovely brunch with her mom and grandma, and we then had a chance to chat and catch up at Barnes and Nobel and Sephora. We’re chicks; we can multitask like that. Erin lives outside of Raleigh, N.C., and since I will have an extra long summer this year, I’m planning on taking a trip down south towards the end of July. While I’m hoping we can get in some beach time, I would be more than happy if we just lie around, eat double-stuffed Oreos, play with the cats, and channel the days of yore. Perhaps we could bust out some Dawson’s Creek. I’m just sayin’…

Lastly, the pool update. I have not yet made it into the water, which is mildly frustrating. I was planning on it all week, but one thing led to another and I never had the time. Yesterday I planned to wake up early today and take a quick dip, but I instead woke up early due to being sick. I’m drinking tea like it’s my job and I’m pumping myself full of vitamin-rich foods in the hope that by Wednesday, after rehearsal, I can finally go for a swim. I need to get in the water and start moving around since the Girls With Sole Swim-A-Thon is not that far away. I’ve already raised $125!

So, yeah, all good things these past seven days. I’m feeling lucky and successful. However, I think I should prepare you for the next blog. About a week before a show opens, I have a tendency to be slightly, well… bat s**t crazy, so next week’s post will most likely be packed with the insane ramblings of the shell of a woman I used to be. Hooray, something to look forward to! The suspense it palpable, I know.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Did the groundhog see my early recovery?

  1. Erin says:

    Yay!! I made the cut! Dawson’s Creek is SO gonna be in the DVD player this summer 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

