bittersweet

It was a week of bittersweet information, realizations, and events. On Tuesday, I saw Dr. Rosneck for my post-operation evaluation. I was both excited and nervous. I hadn’t seen the good doctor since the day of my surgery, and I was anxious to hear what he had to say about my recovery and, perhaps most importantly, the infamous popping scar tissue.

sexy

sexy

After driving through a blizzard that came out of seemingly nowhere, I made what should’ve been a 45 minute drive to Solon in 2 hours. Freaked out and panicking that the doc wouldn’t see me, I was admitted…and given the most ridiculous pair of pants to wear. In hind sight, I wish I would have kept them; you never know when disposable elastic-waisted coo-lots will be (back) in style. When Dr. Rosneck entered the room, however, I was instantly put at ease by his relaxed demeanor. I resigned myself to the fact that I would make the best of whatever he was going to tell me. And so he proceeded. Popping the scar tissue was not the worst thing that could happen to me, and if anything, I’ve lengthened and loosened the tendon even more. However, I have set myself back about three weeks, and my dreams of getting into the pool to start swimming must be dreams for a little bit longer. Bittersweet.

On Thursday I had physical therapy with Jen. Our Town was opening that evening, so I was feeling a little, um, frazzled, to say the least. Due to my tendon and cartilage still being a little flared up, she couldn’t do much, but it was nice to catch up and get stretched out a bit.

Cast party cake!

Cast party cake!

That evening, the play opened to a small crowd. Needless to say the show was amazing and the crowds grew with each performance. This entire weekend the kids gave it their all. I really could not have picked a better show and cast with which to end my 9 1/2 year drama club career. I am so proud of the cast and crew who performed the last showing this afternoon. It was both exciting and sad for me to say goodbye to the club. I’ve worked so very hard over the years to grow this program into what it is today, and I could not have done that without the aid of our PAC Manager, Doug Warnke, or all of the kids I have worked with over the years. There were lots of tears today, but I look forward to what the future has in store for me this time next year. Congratulations cast and crew of Our Town. “I love you all, everything.”

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

