Oh, hey March.

Does anyone else feel like March snuck up on us like a ninja, or is just me?

Yes, February is over with, and with it so is the blustery, snowy Cleveland weather…err…wait. Damnit. Regardless, spring is not too far around the corner and I can’t wait! My hip has been feeling great and – fingers crossed – I hope to get back into running by the end of April.

Speaking of getting back into things, I went swimming this past Friday for the first time since October. Words will not do the experience justice. It felt so incredible to be back in the water. Though I am not permitted to flutter kick quite yet (I shake my angry fist at the popped scar tissue), I’m able to pull. With the aid of a pull buoy, I managed 650 yards with a little walking back and forth between each set of 100. It took some willpower not to kick or push off of the wall, but I was so ecstatic to be in the water I didn’t really mind it. I was legitimately happy to feel the water sloshing around inside my ears as I toweled off. Swimming is going to be a primary focus for me this summer, especially since as of last night I signed up for the Big Shoulders 5K swim in Chicago this coming September. I’m going with my girls Carolyn and Karen, and we are all so jazzed. I will be logging a lot of Lake Erie miles this summer in preparation.

In other fun news, I took another trip to the hospital on Saturday, but hey – it was not for the hip this time. Hooray! No, this time it was an episode of a condition I have called vaso vagal syncope. The short explanation of this condition is that my blood pressure drops, the blood pools in my legs, and my brain tells my heart to stop for just a fraction of a second so my body can “reboot.” It’s like I’m living in the Matrix. So, on Saturday, while out to dinner with our lovely friends Adam, Kathryn, Chris, and Lauren at Georgetown restaurant in Lakewood, my body decided it was in need of yet another dramatic exit from a public place. It’s been, like, what, 4 weeks since my last ambulance ride, so I figured it was time to stir things up a bit once more. I like to keep everyone, including the unknowing public, on their toes. I would like to take this time to formally apologize to all of the employees of the restaurant. I will not, however, apologize to the people sitting around us, for I have bestowed upon them the gift of a story to tell to all of their friends for at least the next couple of months. I do wonder how many different versions of the tale will be shared. “She was clearly on drugs,” or “She was so sloppy drunk,” or “She may have been a werwolf.” Enjoy!

Needless to say, I am fine. Mortified, but fine. My goals for the next couple of months are to keep up with swimming and my strength training, focus on school work, and stay out of all hospitals…and Georgetown for at least the next 6 months. Happy ninja March!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

