Best weekend EVER!

I have so much loveliness to share (and pictures…just wait, they’re coming), I don’t even know where to begin. I guess the beginning would be best. This week and weekend were  jam-packed with lovely moments, big events, quality time, good food, beautiful weather, and a general feeling of splendor.

pool cookies from Karen to brighten the middle of my week

pool cookies from Karen to brighten the middle of my week

Now that the play is over, things have wound down a bit at work. I still have NHS induction to contend with, but my friend and co-advisor Sara hooked me up big time with all of her pre-maternity leave preparations for the year. Luckily that will make things 100 times easier. Also this week, I made my last-ditch efforts to get the sophomores ready for the infamous Ohio Graduation Tests (OGTs). I tried to incorporate some fun into the lessons and handed out OGT survival bags to the kids on Thursday (pencils, mints, words of encouragement). I hope they feel as armed as I perceive them to be.

The happy couple!

The happy couple!

On Friday I had to miss school yet again, but thankfully it was for a fantastically wonderful reason: my sister Sara was married. She and her fiancé, Frank,  kept is very simple by having a small ceremony at the city hall, and in the evening there was a dinner at Strip steakhouse in Avon with Frank’s and our family. It was perfect. Everyone always says if they had to do it again, that’s what they would do. Well, my sister did it! It makes me so very happy to know that Sara is so very happy. Bonus points: my new brother-in-law is the best! Congratulazioni to you both!

Just kidding...maybe. ;)

Just kidding…maybe. 😉

lazy days

napping in the sun

Saturday was spent sleeping in, eating junk food, relaxing, catching up on our TV, and playing some video games. (It has just dawned on me after reading that sentence that I have probably described how most of my students spend their weekends. God love ’em.) Today was a slightly less lazy day as I attended the second day of Portage Cyclery grand opening. Portage Cyclery is a new sponsor for my team, Grunt Girl Racing. It is a beautiful storefront that houses both a bike shop and a tri shop, and the people who work there are great. They are passionate about their sports, very helpful, and quite playful. I know we will all get along splendidly.

Now on to hip matters. I have been swimming as much as I can since I am finally able to flutter kick. I’ve logged 1 hour and 40 minutes and 3000 yards this week. Granted, that does not sound like much, especially to you swimmers out there, but that is a big, BIG deal for me. While I both love and appreciate my physical therapy, I have been chomping at the bit to do some real training. It is frustrating that I am still not permitted to push off of the wall and dolphin kick, but I am trying to be patient.

Today, however, was probably the toughest day I’ve had post surgery when it comes to wanting to run. In good ol’ Cleveland, temperatures soared to the upper 60s. The sun was shining and the birds were singing…and I was in hell. “I will be patient” has become my silent mantra, though at one point I was yelling it in the car after having passed my 100th runner. And now, that is not an inflated number. I counted exactly 100 runners before I snapped. Alright, that last part is a lie, but it’s still a fair estimate. Regardless, I know that my time is coming, and I will wait. I’m going to do things right this year so that next year and all the rest to come I will be a force to be reckoned with…or at the very least a force that is pain and injury free (but there’s something about the word “reckon” that is so delightfully catchy).

Gatsby's first spring

Gatsby’s first spring

Britton girls for life!

Britton girls for life!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

