Paid to touch butts

I haven’t blogged in a while, so I must first apologize for depriving you of my wit and humor. Alas, I am back.

Since last writing, I’ve been plugging away with my physical therapy trying to build up strength and hopefully get started with running some time in May. Stephen has increased the intensity and rigor of my therapy, for which I am grateful. Last week he had me tethered to the giant bungee cord again and made me do figure eights around some cones that he placed quite far out on the floor. It was extremely challenging, and part of me wonders if he took any pleasure in my flailing  as I mustered all of my strength and body weight to pull myself forward. Still, it was fun.

The most nerve-wracking exercise, however, was when he had me do a series of squats. My hesitation was evident, but what I like about Stephen is how he always completes a couple of rounds of the exercise to help me figure out what I’m supposed to be doing and to ease my worrying. As I go through the motions myself, he coaches me and informs me as to why eave movement is important and helpful. I finished all of my exercises last week and this week with much success. Here is a list of activities I am permitted to do at this point, 3 1/2 months post surgery:

Cardio
~Walk (flat surfaces only)
~Swim (no breast stroke)
~Bike (stationary, but can increase resistance to my comfort level)
 
Strength
~leg lifts (on back and side)
~band stretches and contractions on stomach
~bridges
~clamshells
~knee raises (on stomach)
~push ups (on knees)
~lifting (arms only; moderation)
 

I will be swimming 1-2 times a week until school is out. I plan to up it to 4 or 5 times a week once summer hits. I also hope to get in some ocean swimming this summer. I’ve never been swimming in the sea, but I am planning on doing a really big event in 2014 in a body of salt water. I won’t say what it is yet, but if it happens, it will be epic!

Lastly, something dawned on me today. Physical therapy can be kind of weird. It’s one of the few instances in a person’s life where someone other than a significant other or family member puts his/her hands on your body and it’s ok. Depending on the person’s injury can really make for some interesting hand placement. Since I hurt my hip, quite often physical therapists are putting their hands on my butt. These people are paid to touch butts, which I find hysterical because butts are funny! In other news, I may be an 8-year old. God bless the physical therapist.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Paid to touch butts

  1. Amy says:

    Funny. I’m a PT, somebody’s gotta do it 🙂 good luck with your rehab.

    Like

Leave a Reply

