The Summer of the Story

Because I’m still getting over this crazy lung infection I’ve now dubbed “George Mucus and the Pulmonary Funk-Bubonic,” my physical therapy has been on a two-week hiatus thus reducing this post to a two-word update on my hip – it’s fine – and a “Here is what I plan on reading this summer” list. Voila!

The Weird Sisters by Eleanor Brown (This was recommended by my swimming buddy Karen. I’m three chapters in and I love it!)

Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card (A book highly recommended by former student Jake; I believe he urged me to read it last summer, but better late than never.)

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen (I promised Kailey, a student in my College Bound Literature class, that I would give it a chance though this genre is typically not my cup of tea.)

The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley (This fictional novel was highly recommended by College Bound Lit. student Kristen who is sure I am going to love it.)

Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail by Cheryl Strayed (This book was lent to me from Laura who knows it will be right up my alley.)

“Bears Discover Fire” by Terry Bisson (I can’t remember who told me I would “love” this story, but whoever he was, he was quite certain this was a must-read for me.)

Sula by Toni Morrison (I’ve never read Toni Morrison and seeing as thought she is a living local legend-among-legends, I feel I should, and so Laura has suggested I start with this book.)

Little Women by Louisa May Alcott (I haven’t read this book since I was a child, so I feel I owe it to my girl L.M.)

Let’s Pretend This Never Happened by Jenny Lawson (Both my cousin Carey and coworker Jake told me that when they read this book they instantly thought of me because the girl is so “crazy.” If that isn’t a selling feature, I don’t know what is.)

The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne (I haven’t read this book since high school and I will be teaching it to my juniors next fall. I plan on reading it when I go to Massachusetts this August. That seems fitting.)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

