Goal Crusher

If I played Dungeons and Dragons, that would totally be my character name. I’m just saying.

Since my last post I’ve been a goal setting and crushing machine. Just a few short days after posting that I wanted to run a consistent 20 minutes by the end of November, I did just that! Twenty minutes of continual running isn’t much compared to what I was doing a year ago, but that twenty minutes of continual running was the greatest I have ever felt while running to this date. I may have even cried a little (a lot).

As I cooled down, wiping the tears from my eyes – my allergies were really bothering me – I reflected on the running goals I’ve been setting for myself these past few months. It was only a few short months ago that I ran for the first time post surgery, that I ran on my own without the anti-gravity harness, that I ran for five consecutive minutes, that I ran for a total of 15 minutes broken into increments. On Sunday I checked off another goal: I ran on the road for the first time in 11 months. When I turned back down my street and walked up my driveway, well, let’s just say my allergies started to bother me again. I couldn’t believe how emotional I was. But then again, healing is an emotional process as well as a physical one, no?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

