Recovery…and some slacking. (W4 of base building)

When Gale Bernhardt planned this recovery week, I’m sure she didn’t also plan for athletes to rearrange their schedules and straight up not do some of the training. Yeah…I’m that girl. To be fair, I had planned on participating in the Girls With Sole Swim-A-Thon today, which was going to more than make up for the 15-minute swim I skipped on Thursday, but then the 100th polar vortex of the winter came through Cleveland, and the roads were a mess, and yeah, I kinda suck. Here’s what I completed during week four.

Monday: warm-up run and lift

Both the duration for the run and strength training was shortened since it was a recovery week (20/30). Bonus points: this was the only workout I completed in its planned entirety on its planned day. Go me! I’m sure that Gale had a very good reason for scheduling this week when she did. After my training from the weekend prior, my body was pretty darn tired. I was very much looking forward to taking it easy the rest of the week.

Tuesday: rest day

I know, I know…moving my rest day up from Friday to Tuesday seems absurd, but I had a good reason. I had a meeting after work, and by the time I got home, blah, blah, blah, yakitty shmackity. No seriously, I totally suck.

Wednesday: swim

Since I bumped everything down a day after moving my rest day up (Still with me?), Wednesday became a swim day. Yay! The workout called for 5 x 100 and gave me 30 minutes to complete it. I did 3 x 150 (fr/kk/pl) to warm up, then busted out 6 x 100 for a yardage total of 1050. I finished in 20 minutes and decided to call it. I didn’t want to burn my arms out with extra laps when I was supposed to be recovering, and I swear that is not an excuse.

Thursday: bike and lift

Pretty in pink!

Pretty in pink!

I rode the spin bike for 20 minutes and busted out a sweet strength set for 30 minutes. When I got home, I discovered that my new Brooks Ghost 6s arrived, and Thursday instantly became the best day of the week. Boom.

Friday: slacking

Ok, so here is my low point of the week. I should’ve been completing a 15-minute swim, but I figured since I was going to be swimming a long time on Sunday and completing the scheduled bike workout afterwards, I could take Friday off. So, I did.

Saturday: bike

Look, I’m a free spirit. I go with the flow. I change with the wind. And I decided there was no way in hell that my legs would be up for an hour-long bike ride after an hour-long swim. I also saw that the run workout for Saturday was calling for an aerobic time-trial, and it dawned on me that I really need (want) a heart-rate monitor. I can’t effectively do a lactate threshold heart rate test without an instrument that measures my heart rate. Bike it is! The focus was isolated leg, which I rapidly discovered that I hate. I rented Red 2, which made the series of 1-minute single-leg peddling slightly more bearable. Slightly.

Sunday: run

Due to the snow, I did not make it to the GWS Swim-A-Thon this morning, and though I was unable to run a true 30-minute time-trial, I did run something similar. After the snow stopped and the plows came through, I made my way to the rec. center. I warmed up with a 15-minute slow and steady pace, then for the next 10 minutes, I increased my pace each minute. I tried to note when my breathing became labored, which was around 22 minutes. I cooled down with a 5 minute walk, then stretched out. I definitely ran my fastest today since my hip surgery, and it felt great to fly around the track…in my new Brooks [said in a girly squeal]!

W4 Planned Duration: 3:45

W4 Completed Duration: 3:20

Since Mark wasn't home to take my pic, I crafted this self-portrait instead.

Since Mark wasn’t home to take my pic, I crafted this self-portrait instead.

Coming up short by 25 minutes pains me deeper than…well, probably more than it should, actually. This week taught me a lesson. Having goals are great. Striving to achieve them is greater. And falling short of achieving a goal is just motivation to kick the ass of the next one. I will own you, Week 5.

Food Review:

photo-57For this week’s meal selections from the Racing Weight Cookbook, I made the Pumpkin & Maple-Nut Oatmeal for breakfast and was transported back to fall. (I ate it all before remembering that I needed to take a picture of it. Sorry.) On Sunday I made the Flaxseed & Herb-Crusted Chicken with a side of roasted purple fingerlings and Brussels sprouts. Mark liked the chicken a lot, but I was indifferent. I then made the One-pot Quinoa, Chicken & Veggies to be eaten for my dinners for the week and I loved it! It was ridiculously easy to prepare, reheated really well, and was just plain yummy. The recipes I selected for this coming week look super scrumptious; I can’t wait to test them out.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

