Happy, Happy, Joy, Joy!

Three weeks ago I made a promise to myself to relax and have fun while training and racing, and I can easily say today that I have done just that. I haven’t felt this good about working out or racing in a long time. It’s nice to be back to my old self.

As I pointed out back in April, the most significant change I was making was taking myself off of a specific workout plan and stopping recording my daily training activities. I should clarify by saying that it wasn’t the Gale Bernhardt plan that forced me to quit. In fact, I loved the plan I purchased through Trainingpeaks, and I definitely anticipate using the service again next year. I also learned quite a bit when it comes to strength training, and I’m still using the exercises Bernhardt put together. It was the schedule that began to break me. I was getting caught up in my own manic need for meeting and exceeding each prescribed workout, and when I wasn’t doing what I felt I should be doing, I was incredibly hard on myself. I still highly recommend the Gale Bernhardt plan offered through Trianingpeaks.com, but I don’t recommend you let it take over your life.

photo 1-23Even though I haven’t posted about it recently, I have still been cooking from my trusty Racing Weight Cookbook. I have tried out a couple of new recipes, and I played around with the scone recipe making blueberry instead of raspberry, which I thought tasted better. I made the Red Lentils with Kale and Tomatoes and it was delicious, but I forgot to take a picture before I devoured every last morsel. Now that the weather has warmed up, I look forward to making some of the more summer-season meals. Stay tuned for pics and reviews.

We’ve also become smoothie-heads in the Dietrich household. My husband procured us a Vitamix and needless to say we are in love. We’re having lots of fun concocting recipes. The blender/wonder-tool comes with a pretty boss cookbook that I look forward to testing out, but the Vitamix already gets an A+ in my book. Since its arrival, my husband has eaten more fruits and veggies than I’ve ever seen him consume in our 17 years together.

photo 1-24And now for the biggest news of all: I ran my first road race post-hip surgery on Saturday at the Inaugural 4 Miles 4 Water at Edgewater Park in Cleveland! It was everything I could ever want for my first time back at it. The course was beautiful as we ran along the lake shore, the food was fabulous as some of Cleveland’s food trucks were on site, and the weather was P-E-R-F-E-C-T. Mark joined me and I was so happy to share that moment with him. Though I was a little nervous, I reminded myself that I was there primarily to have fun. I refused to allow myself to get worried about how I would perform, and in the end I did very well. Though I didn’t place in my age group, I dominated my own goal. I wanted to complete the race in under 40 minutes, and when I crossed the finish line the clock read 32:57! I even passed my husband after mile two as we made our way up the long, steep hill, and I have to admit, it felt pretty great (sorry, hun!).

On the horizon are several more races (Lula 5K, Summer Solstice Sprint Tri, Gay Games events), but I’m no longer petrified by the thought that I won’t be ready. No matter what the outcome, I’m going to give it my all, but most importantly, I’m going to enjoy each experience just like I did yesterday.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy, Happy, Joy, Joy!

  1. Lenny Gale says:

    “Back to your old self” is the best feeling in the world. The BEST.

    Keep up the good work. 🙂

    Good things,
    Lenny

    Like

Leave a Reply

