Travels and Training

Ah, the familiar sights and smells of home. Though my back-to-back trips to Massachusetts and Aruba were perfect and wonderful in every way, there’s just something about being home that feels so good. But now that I’m done traveling for the summer, it’s time to get down to brass tacks with my training.

I managed to keep up with a light workout regiment while I was living the island life at Palm Beach in Aruba, but I didn’t over do it. I still wanted to enjoy my vacation without being overly sore or worn out. In addition to my workout days, my husband and I took long walks on the beach (that’s right; I said it) after breakfast every morning. Here’s my travel week training log:

Saturday: Absolutely nothing.

10492283_10202805811841197_1044836275024669081_n

Our hotel, Riu Palace.

Arrived in Aruba with the family. Lounged, ate, drank, and gambled a little. It was awesome.

Sunday: Strength

I hit the resort gym for a 10-minute treadmill warm-up, followed by 3 x 12 of the following: chest presses, leg presses, bent-arm lat pull downs, and one-arm dumbbell rows (which I had to improvise a bit since there was no bench). I returned to my room to to complete 20 each of my PT moves: vacuums, left lifts, side leg lifts, clamshells, bridges. I threw in a few planks for good measure.

Monday: Run

10514765_10203393425110079_9121555892949765279_n

OWS goggles for the win.

Mark and I took in the northern coastline of Aruba with a jog along the boardwalk that stretches behind all of the resorts and hotels. The scenery doesn’t get much better than beautiful white sand beaches. I left my Garmin at a home, but based on our pace and the time it took us to complete the run, I estimate that we ran close to 3 miles. Later in the day we went tubing, which was so much fun that I couldn’t stop screaming or laughing (scraughing?).

 

Tuesday: Off

I got a little sunburn on my shoulders and neck, so when I put on my sports bra I felt like crying. I decided to take the day off…and sip margaritas in the shade.

Wednesday: Run

Last run in Aruba!

Last run in Aruba!

We repeated the same run from Monday, and it was just as gorgeous as the first day. This was also the day we went out on jet skis, which also happened to be my first time on a jet ski. The water was quite choppy which made for a very exhilarating, slightly terrifying experience. I absolutely loved it!

Thursday: Strength

I did a 15 minute warm-up on the elliptical in the gym followed by 2 x 15 of the following: bent-arm lat pull downs, chest presses, and leg presses. I went back to our room to round out my workout with 20 each of vacuums, clamshells, leg lifts, side leg lifts, bridges, and knee raises on my stomach.

Friday: Off

It was a grueling travel day back home due to delays caused by hurricane Arthur, which is perhaps the least scariest name for a hurricane ever. I decided to chill out and hit it hard the next day.

Saturday: Trial Run

I really missed my shady forest trails, and I was in need of some soft-surface running, so I headed to my favorite spot in the Rocky River Reservation. I busted out 4.5 miles with some heavy post-run stretching.

Sunday: OWS

I was a little sore from my run, which prevented me from doing more, but I still managed to get in about 1100 yards with my swim sister Carolyn. The water was flat, clear, and cool.

I plan on spending July focussing on my strength training and my running game. I’m looking to do a trail race and possibly another 5K before August, but I’m not committed to anything as of yet. My primary objective is to be healthy, happy, and fit enough to do well in the Gay Games sprint tri and 5K in August and my 10-miler in September, all of which I am super psyched for. I also plan to put that Vitamix cookbook to good use. Yum!

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

