No-Go for the Gay Games

After visiting the doctor yesterday, it was decided that my body just isn’t up to the task of competing in the Gay Games sprint tri and the 5K. I have yet to fully recover from my asthma attack in late July, and am now on a much stronger and longer dose of steroids to help get me back to breathing normally and feeling more like myself.

Words cannot accurately convey how sad and disappointed I am that I can’t participate. For those of you that know me well (and probably even those of you who don’t since I’ve blogged about it so much), you know that I have been looking forward to GG9 since I registered for the games in 2012 and signed up for my races in 2013. I’ve worked so hard for the past two years recovering from injury and surgery, and training to become the most physically and mentally fit I have ever been in my life. To be this close and not be able to compete is utterly heartbreaking.

I think that the Gay Games are a hugely impactful and momentous occasion not only for Cleveland but Ohio as a whole. I still plan on attending several of the events and ceremonies because I believe it is important to show my full support. Perhaps these games will finally tip the point in the long overdue decision to legalize gay marriage in Ohio and afford more rights to the LGBT community.

Thank you so much to the Federation of Gay Games for selecting Cleveland as your host city for GG9. Good luck to all of you who are participating, and thank you to all of the volunteers and event coordinators. I am incredibly proud to be a part of this amazing and historical event, and proud to celebrate the city I love. And who knows…maybe I’ll participate at the next GG10 in Paris in 2018.  🙂

cleveland

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

